top of page
  • acorbin95

Procrastinator or Planner?

I think people generally fall into two categories - those who plan ahead and those who work better with a looming deadline. It can be tricky working with someone who works with a different mental timeframe.

I tend to plan ahead and leave enough time to make changes to a project, feeling that I have done a thorough job before it's due. Sometimes, I'm on a walk over the weekend and a new thought rises to the surface. Another change. The work is done even if something unexpected happens in my life at the last minute. I'm not scrambling.

Other professionals don't have the mental light switch turned on until the day before the deadline. Their great ideas surge through and get tweaked during late night hours. Perhaps this individual feels a sense of exhilaration and satisfaction. They didn't overspend their time on this - and the product is still done well.

It can be hard to work together. I hate working at the last minute and staying up late the night before it's due when it can be avoided. Another colleague might hate wasting time planning a project until it's absolutely necessary. Two very different ways of looking producing the similar results.

Which one are you?

20 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page