top of page
  • acorbin95

New endings for old fairy tales


Today I read three versions of Cinderella to three different classes. The books are from our school library. They looked worn and I skimmed them quickly. First I chose the one with the nicest illustrations. For the second class, I chose another book. The illustrations were smaller but it looked like the classic version. The third was from a fairy tale collection. Before I read the third, I skimmed through the ending. Surprised, I realized all three had updated the tale with a "let's all be friends" ending.


What made me laugh was the indignant reaction from the students to all three books.

Wait, she goes to the ball two times? Cinderella gives orange slices to her stepsisters at the ball? You have to be kidding - Cinderella invites her mean stepmother and sisters to live with her in the palace? They are all friends?!! No, no, no!! Those mean people were thrown out of the story at the end in the story we know. It should stay that way!


It seems that students don't mind fractured fairy tales. They just don't want the classic endings to change to a kinder, gentler outcome. They felt the evil, mean stepmother and stepsisters never had to answer for their terrible behavior. Students love the Cinderella versions from other countries like Korea or an island because the setting, clothing, and customs all change. But messing around with the old classic? Protests.

Maybe the next generation of children will accept this altered fairy tale as the classic version.


11 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page