top of page
  • acorbin95

How will I get home?

Inspired by Fran McVeigh's post titled Conundrum, my thoughts immediately went back to a scary moment this summer. I have grown up near big, beautiful cities all over the world. I was enjoying the feeling of "home" with a fantastic week in New York at my son's apartment while he and his wife were on vacation. The highlight was spending time with my granddaughter and her nanny - although I had plenty of time for my own plans. As I returned to the apartment one day, I stopped for take-out lunch at a nearby lunch place. I went to pay, but I had no credit card. In fact, no license, no health care card. no Covid vaccine card - none of the little pieces of plastic to identify me as a human being in the 21st century. My heart raced. Had someone bumped into me? No. Had these things flipped out of my purse when I grabbed my phone? Maybe. How do I even get home? I have no ID. I do not exist. I am invisible. How long does it take to replace this in the middle of New York? Who is going to steal the health care information? I started to fade away and felt like I was standing outside myself watching. I walked back to the apartment, calling the last place I visited - but the line was busy. I put my hand in the pocket of my shorts. And felt something. I pulled out 5 pieces of plastic bound together in a rubber band. Instant relief! The world went from black and white to color. I existed.

12 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page